Guidance and feedback required
  • 48 posts
  • Page 1 of 4
Bearskin wrote:
This is my first attempt at map-making - it is not intended as a proposed map for D12.

I did it as a learning exercise, so would really appreciate any feedback/advice on just about anything to do with it, but more specifically;
(i) My process, (ii) Potential game-play issues, (iii) the map iteself.

1 - Choosing the map
The first job was finding a simple reference map to work from. In this case, I chose the expansion of the Vikings across the North Atlantic.
Example 1: Reference map (click to show)

2 - Cleaning up the map
I removed all extraneous information, routes, legend, gridlines, etc. to give myself a clean image to work over.
Example 2: Cleaned map (click to show)

I wasn't worried about quality or consistency of colour at this point, and I tried to keep things like lakes and rivers to use as possible territory borders or impassable areas.

3 - Territories and space
At this point, I added territory circles and names, just to see how many the map could support and to make sure there was enough space.
Example 3: Map with 25 territories (click to show)

Then I paused and left the map alone for a few days - the idea being to come back with fresh eyes later.
I'd read all the forum guidance on map-making and there was lots of sage advice about gameplay. So, I decided to focus on this next.

4 - Gameplay
I ran the map through the Domination Map Editor and played a couple of games.
This immediately threw up two problems (not map related - more to do with my own memory!)

I couldn't easily identify regions, and I couldn't remember how all the territories connected.
Looks like I dived into playing it too soon!
I went back to my map and added some temporary region colours plus connecting lines for all the territories.

This workaround allowed me to spend a lot more time playing the map properly - which generated three more problems.
This time they were very definitely game-play issues: